Book Review: Empire of Sand by Tasha Suri|Fantasy inspired by women from Mughal-India and Hindu Mythology|

Blurb (as on Goodreads): A nobleman’s daughter with magic in her blood. An empire built on the dreams of enslaved gods. Empire of Sand is Tasha Suri’s captivating, Mughal India-inspired debut fantasy. The Amrithi are outcasts; nomads descended of desert spirits, they are coveted and persecuted throughout the Empire for the power in their blood. Mehr is the …

Continue reading Book Review: Empire of Sand by Tasha Suri|Fantasy inspired by women from Mughal-India and Hindu Mythology|

Advertisements

e-ARC Review: ‘Sorcery of Thorns’ by Margaret Rogerson|Sorcery, monstrous books, love, and friendship

Blurb (as on Goodreads): All sorcerers are evil. Elisabeth has known that as long as she has known anything. Raised as a foundling in one of Austermeer’s Great Libraries, Elisabeth has grown up among the tools of sorcery—magical grimoires that whisper on shelves and rattle beneath iron chains. If provoked, they transform into grotesque monsters of …

Continue reading e-ARC Review: ‘Sorcery of Thorns’ by Margaret Rogerson|Sorcery, monstrous books, love, and friendship

Book Review: The Children of Destruction by Kuber Kaushik

Blurb (as on Goodreads): Magic has been hiding at the edges of reality all along For Alice, life as a teenager was hard enough without turning into a supernatural herald of destruction. And you would think that after causing mini hurricanes with a mere sneeze, being visited by talking foxes and ending up on a journey …

Continue reading Book Review: The Children of Destruction by Kuber Kaushik

Book Review: Near Witch by VE Schwab|A evil witch, a stranger, and some puzzling abductions

Blurb (as on Goodreads): The Near Witch is only an old story told to frighten children.  If the wind calls at night, you must not listen. The wind is lonely, and always looking for company.  And there are no strangers in the town of Near. These are the truths that Lexi has heard all her life. …

Continue reading Book Review: Near Witch by VE Schwab|A evil witch, a stranger, and some puzzling abductions

Book Review: Descendant of The Crane by Joan He|A naive princess, a suspicious death and an unreliable protector

Blurb (as on Goodreads): Tyrants cut out hearts. Rulers sacrifice their own. Princess Hesina of Yan has always been eager to shirk the responsibilities of the crown, but when her beloved father is murdered, she’s thrust into power, suddenly the queen of an unstable kingdom. Determined to find her father’s killer, Hesina does something desperate: she …

Continue reading Book Review: Descendant of The Crane by Joan He|A naive princess, a suspicious death and an unreliable protector

Book Review: A Curse so Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer|A lost girl, a lonely prince and an unpredictable witch|

Blurb (as on Goodreads): An instant New York Times Best Seller! In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer. Fall in love, break the curse.  It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by …

Continue reading Book Review: A Curse so Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer|A lost girl, a lonely prince and an unpredictable witch|

Drop Dead Gorgeous by R. L. Stine|A pretty girl, a group of reckless teenagers and a dark mystery|

Blurb (as on Goodreads): Morgan Marks is the new girl—and nobody can stop talking about her. She’s popular, smart, and beautiful. Everyone wants to be her friend. But her past is veiled in mystery, and no one, not even her boyfriend Ben, knows where exactly she came from. But Shadyside Homecoming is just around the corner. …

Continue reading Drop Dead Gorgeous by R. L. Stine|A pretty girl, a group of reckless teenagers and a dark mystery|