Book Review: Once Upon a Genie by Durriya Kapasi

A Genie! This book made me want a Genie. Preferably a smoking hot one 😉

Okay! Back to reality.

Hola folks!

A book about fantasies and dream. Here’s my take on “Once Upon a Genie” by Durriya Kapasi.

Genre: Fiction, Fantasy

Publisher: Half Baked Beans

Blurb (as on Amazon)

Daisy had no idea what was in store for her when she uncovered the priceless reward concealed in a miscellaneous bottle; a super sexy genie that would pull the rugs below her feet. Khalil Muwahid, the genie owed Daisy his gratitude for freeing him from the trap. He generously asked her for three wishes without holding any grudges against her. Gradually there was a strong connection between them, the bond of love. Also, the rules of Djinn world were amended for their love, where Daisy wasn’t supposed to ask for the third wish since they could be together, everlastingly. BUT on the horns of Dilemma, Darren, Daisy’s best friend’s life was at threat. Does she use the last wish to save Darren? Or does she save her love?

My Take:

What would you wish for if you had a genie? I already have my list prepared 😛

Daisy gets a genie from her grandmother. A rather hot one. He grants her three wishes. This book is about these wishes intertwined with steaming romance.

A romantic tale between a human and a genie which is not at all creepy. And a friend-zoned guy (Darren). Everything goes according to the plan until Daisy discovers Darren has cancer and thus Daisy is left to choose between love and friendship. The book gives us a glimpse of beautiful places such as Paris and Dubai. The story has a modern set-up but it also gives the Arabian Nights feels.

This book is realistic, entertaining and logical. It’s a beautiful celebration of desires and glamour. The plot may have been a little predictable, but wonderfully executed by the author.

I finished this book in one sitting. The plot kept me hooked. An easy going story-line, it almost felt real. I am particularly happy with the ending, It’s so honest and beautiful.

Chit-Chat with the Author:

I also had the opportunity to ask Durriya a few questions. Here they are:

  • Why a book on the genie, when the world is obsessed with faeries?

I’m obsessed with Genies ever since I was a child. They are my favorite creatures, and I’ve done a lot of research on them. Some people think they are from the demons (evil) because they are made of smokeless fire, while they are not. There is a mix of good and bad.  Talk about belief, some think they don’t even exist. To my knowledge and spirituality, the good ones are out there, trying to cope with the humans, learn and help. So was Khalil, I tried to portray Khalil the same way, to change the vision of the readers and I’m glad my audience wished for a genie after that!

  • The story is set in a modern background, but the genie hails from Middle East (as usual). Did you, at any point, think of a more modernized version of the genie?

The genie is an Arab by nature. He isn’t from the Middle East exactly, he is brought up in Canada just like Daisy and Darren, though in a different world within, I will reveal more about his traits in the sequel. I tried to paint a picture of a nice and dashing Genie in my reader’s mind, I tried to balance things, make him modernized and sometimes dumb with all his mood swings and lousy behavior, intentionally, to show him different from the human characters. 

  • What can we expect from your next book? Are you planning a sequel?

Yes, I’m working on the sequel. The only hint I can give right now is that the human and genie race will unite in the book, how, when and why? For that, you have to read it. I will also be introducing Khalil’s son as the main character.

Ratings:

Goodreads rating: 4.42/5

My rating: 4.0/5

Click here to buy this book

 

Until next time

xoxo

 

** The author provided me a copy of the book for an honest and unbiased review**

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. This sounds great. I am glad you loved it. I like that the setting includes Paris and Dubai. That is quite the combo! I hope you will love the sequel even more.

    Like

    1. Yes it’s so much better than I expected. Thank You 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

