e-ARC Review: My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing|Things aren’t always the way they seem|

Blurb (as on Goodreads): Dexter meets Mr. and Mrs. Smith in this wildly compulsive debut thriller about a couple whose fifteen-year marriage has finally gotten too interesting... Our love story is simple. I met a gorgeous woman. We fell in love. We had kids. We moved to the suburbs. We told each other our biggest dreams …

Continue reading e-ARC Review: My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing|Things aren’t always the way they seem|

Advertisements

Book Review: Magical Women by Sukanya Venkatraghavan|Stories that touch your heart

Blurb (as on Goodreads): A weaver is initiated into the ancient art of bringing a universe into existence. A demon hunter encounters an unlikely opponent. Four goddesses engage in a cosmic brawl. A graphic designer duels with a dark secret involving a mysterious tattoo. A defiant chudail makes a shocking announcement at a kitty party. A …

Continue reading Book Review: Magical Women by Sukanya Venkatraghavan|Stories that touch your heart

Book Review: Good Talk by Mira Jacob|A Memoir in Conversations|

Blurb (as on Goodreads): A bold, wry, and intimate graphic memoir about American identity, interracial families, and the realities that divide us, from the acclaimed author of The Sleepwalker’s Guide to Dancing. “By turns hilarious and heart-rending, it’s exactly the book America needs at this moment.”—Celeste Ng “Who taught Michael Jackson to dance?” “Is that how …

Continue reading Book Review: Good Talk by Mira Jacob|A Memoir in Conversations|

Book Review: Romanov by Nadine Brandes|Did Anastasia Romanova die without avenging her family?

Blurb (as on Goodreads): The history books say I died. They don’t know the half of it. Anastasia “Nastya” Romanov was given a single mission: to smuggle an ancient spell into her suitcase on her way to exile in Siberia. It might be her family’s only salvation. But the leader of the Bolshevik army is after …

Continue reading Book Review: Romanov by Nadine Brandes|Did Anastasia Romanova die without avenging her family?

Book Review: Near Witch by VE Schwab|A evil witch, a stranger, and some puzzling abductions

Blurb (as on Goodreads): The Near Witch is only an old story told to frighten children.  If the wind calls at night, you must not listen. The wind is lonely, and always looking for company.  And there are no strangers in the town of Near. These are the truths that Lexi has heard all her life. …

Continue reading Book Review: Near Witch by VE Schwab|A evil witch, a stranger, and some puzzling abductions

Book Review: Descendant of The Crane by Joan He|A naive princess, a suspicious death and an unreliable protector

Blurb (as on Goodreads): Tyrants cut out hearts. Rulers sacrifice their own. Princess Hesina of Yan has always been eager to shirk the responsibilities of the crown, but when her beloved father is murdered, she’s thrust into power, suddenly the queen of an unstable kingdom. Determined to find her father’s killer, Hesina does something desperate: she …

Continue reading Book Review: Descendant of The Crane by Joan He|A naive princess, a suspicious death and an unreliable protector

Book Review: A Curse so Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer|A lost girl, a lonely prince and an unpredictable witch|

Blurb (as on Goodreads): An instant New York Times Best Seller! In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer. Fall in love, break the curse.  It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by …

Continue reading Book Review: A Curse so Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer|A lost girl, a lonely prince and an unpredictable witch|